First Group Ride

May 31, 2010

This past weekend I have been incredibly busy. It has been a great weekend, and I’m so happy I have been busy with the things I have been a part of, but it doesn’t change the fact that right now I feel dead tired. This all started though Saturday morning at 9 a.m., when I went on my first Louisville Bike Club Group Ride. My father has been going on the group rides for about 2 years now, and he felt that it would be good for me to go and ride with what he called, “Real Cyclists.” There were about 40 some people at this group ride. In this large group of riders there was all kinds of levels of ability. There a few people who came with a Walmart-Special bikes with a baskets and bells on the handle bars. There were also people who had bikes that fell within the $3000 to $4000 price range. As you could imagine, they were riding at the front of the group. But it was a good ride. My Dad and I got off to a late start due to some technical difficulties, but surprisingly caught up with a big group of riders who were keeping a very good pace. I fell behind one rider who I thought would be good to draft, but then found out that he was a bit squirrely and almost made me wreck a couple of times. It was a 35 mile ride. This has been my longest ride to date, but I want to say one of my bests. We began down by the Waterfront and then road to Shawnee Park. After this we then road back to Downtown and from there went out to Iroquois Park. In this park in particular there is a massive hill, but I just kept my head low and became very “zombie” like. My Dad and I finished the ride strong, but once I got off my bike I felt as if I might collapse. I took off my jersey and fell into the passenger car seat, where I then proceeded to close my eyes and fall asleep to the sound of my legs throbbing.

Leave a comment